top of page

History of St. Mary-Holy Cross

Our two Catholic Churches are located in Northern Polk County.  St. Mary Church is located in the town of Elkhart, Iowa, and Holy Cross Church is located East of Elkhart near Farrar, Iowa.  Our members are a diverse group coming from many communities in the area - Adel, Alleman, Altoona, Ames, Ankeny, Baxter, Bondurant, Boone, Cambridge, Clive, Colfax, Collins, Des Moines, Elkhart, Huxley, Kelly, Lucas, Madrid, Maxwell, Mingo, Mitchellville, Nevada, Polk City, Prairie City, Sheldahl, Slater, and West Des Moines. 

   Priests serving as Pastor of St. Mary-Holy Cross Parish:

   *  2023, February 7  Father Ross Parker, also works at the Diocesan Vocations Office

   *  2022, July 14  Father Michael Amadeo, Canonical Administrator

   *  2018  Father Andrew Windschitl  to July 13, 2022

   *  2008  Father Dan Krettek, also worked at Emmaus House

   *  2007  Father Robert Harris

   *  1998  Father Michael Amadeo, also worked at the Diocese

   *  1997  Father Dan Kirby

   *  1990  Father John Acrea, also worked at the Diocese

   *  1987  Father Philip Kruse, also worked at the Diocese

   *  1984  Monsignor Joseph Schulte

   *  1982  Father Dennis Trausch

   *  1980  Father Joseph Devlin

   *  1973  Monsignor John J. Gorman

   *  1972  Father John E. Cunningham

   *  1969  Father Michael J. Flood

   *  1967  Father Richard Bergman

   *  1960  Monsignor John McIlhon was Pastor while holding other positions in the Diocese

   *  1959  Father Joseph P. Ryan, Pastor after teaching at Dowling High School

   *  1955  Monsignor Raymond Conley, was Pastor while remaining editor of the Messenger

   *  1924  Father G. C. Jermaine, who was Pastor until 1955 when he died.

   *  1917  Father F. J. Larkin, who was Pastor until 1924 when he established St. Joseph Parish in Des Moines.     

   *  1915  Father James Manning

   Priests who served the territory in NE Polk County:

   *  1893  Father Thomas Sheehy, Pastor of Valeria

   *  1882  Father James Quinn, who rebuilt the Valeria Church

   *  1881  Father John J. McAleese, Newton

   *  1880  Father Patrick Feely, Newton

   *  1876  Father J. Fogarty of Sacred Heart, Newton

   *  1860  Father F. Brazil, St. Ambrose, Des Moines

bottom of page