Parish Council

The Parish Council meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month (except December), at 6:30pm in the Social Hall.

Parish Council Members

John Roberts, Chair Email

Doug Jones Email

Tim Loraditch -  Email

Tammi McClain -  Email

Larry Sauer -  Email

Celia Shedd -  Email


Meet our Members!

Doug Jones  (5 PM at St. Mary)

Married to Lisa for 26 years and has three children, Patrick, Olivia and Thomas. Lives in Elkhart and have been parishioners for 24 years. Works as an engineer and enjoys spending time with family and fixing and restoring cars.


Tim Loraditch (10 AM at St. Mary)

He is a convert as of 2003 and married to Geneveve with eight kids. Family has been parishioners for about three years. Serves in pro-life movement as well as marriage preparation, including as sponsor couple.


Tammi McClain I am excited to serve on the Parish Council.  My family and I have been members of SMHC since 1998.  Since that time, I have worked in various ministries.  I was the PK-6th grade Co-RE Director from 2013-2017.  I have served on the Stewardship Committee and have continued to do so since 2015.  I am one of the parish representatives for The Blessing Box Food Pantry.  We usually attend the 10:00 AM Mass, but now that we are empty nesters (Alli recently graduated from Iowa State and Jackson is serving the Army) we are mixing it up. I am married to Garrett (celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary this summer) and he lectors, cantors, is a Eucharistic Minister, and is soon to be the Grand Knight for Knights of Columbus. We live in Alleman. 

If you have met me, you know that I am very task-oriented.  I thrive on personal interactions and relationships with others.  I would love to focus on building community in our parish, but also know that there are many other topics that need our attention. 

I am a teacher in the Ankeny Community School District, working with 2nd - 5th grade gifted and talented students.  In my free time, I like to travel, play games, go for bike rides, and read.  I hope to have the opportunity to serve our parish in this role.


 John Roberts  --Chair (5 PM at St. Mary)

Lives in Huxley. Graduated from and works at Iowa State University. Has been a parishioner most of his life. Enjoys spending time with family, friends, and going hunting and fishing.

Larry Sauer - I want to contribute to the church.  We typically attend Saturday evening Mass.  Parish activity involvement (SMHC or previous parishes):  Knights of Columbus in this parish and our previous one, lector in previous parish.

I was born and raised in the northwest O’Brien County town of Hartley, IA where I attended the Hartley Community School. Upon graduating from high school, I attended Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo where I majored in criminal justice.  After graduating from college, I spent the next forty-two years in law enforcement working in the Denison and Urbandale police departments and the last thirty-six years in the Iowa Department of Public Safety.  

My wife Chris and I were married in 1972 and we have two children, Matthew and Jessica, and five grandchildren, Leah, Justice and Malik (Jessica’s) and Kaden and Kenna (Matt’s).  We reside and Ankeny, Iowa.


Celia Priebe Shedd I am a life-long Catholic from northeastern Iowa. I've been a parishioner of St. Mary-Holy Cross since 2000.  I attend Mass at Holy Cross with my three children. Kelcie will be a junior at Baxter Community School, Natalie will be in 8th grade and Nicholas will be in 5th grade both at St Joseph Catholic School in Des Moines.  I am an Assistant Teaching Professor at Iowa State University.  I teach in the department of Human Development and Family Studies.  My specialty is working with young children with special needs and their families. 

I started volunteering at my home parish when I was in grade school helping with funeral dinners.   In the past I've taught RE and was an assistant director of RE, I've lectored and was a part of music ministry. I briefly served on the pastoral council in 2010.  I tend to help where and when it is needed. The past few years, my focus has been on making sure my children understand what it means to be Catholic and how to participate during mass.  They are old enough now that I can start volunteering and participating in other ways.  I've always felt that part of being a parishioner is to use our God given gifts and talents in order for our church to grow and stay vibrant.  I'm ready to do my part again. 


We thank these parishioners for volunteering to be members of this Council.